Governing Board

The BKCASE Governing Board was established in 2013 to oversee the policies of the BKCASE products, SEBoK and GRCSE. Some primary responsibilities include publishing these products, leading the Editorial Board, and coordinating outreach with the professional societies. Today’s Governing Board consists of multiple members from each of the three governing organizations; each organization has one voting member.

INCOSE (International Council on Systems Engineering)

Dr. Art Pyster, George Mason University (GMU)

Dr. Pyster served as the BKCASE Project Principal Investigator and Editor in Chief and Dr. Olwell as the Co-Principal Investigator and Co-Editor in Chief from 2009-2012. Dr. Pyster’s full biography can be found on the GMU website.



Paul Frenz, General Dynamics

Paul Frenz is a Certified Systems Engineering Professional, project manager, functional manager, Design For Six Sigma Black Belt, and process improvement leader with 33 years of successful design, development, and delivery of advanced products and software in commercial and defense industries, currently at General Dynamics.



SERC (Systems Engineering Research Center)

Dr. Jon Wade,  Stevens Institute of Technology

Jon Wade is a Distinguished Service Professor in the School of Systems and Enterprises at Stevens Institute of Technology,  and serves as the President and founder of AgilePower Systems, Inc.

Dr. Wade received his SB, SM, EE and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a Doctoral concentration in Device Physics and a minor in Business Administration.

Dr. Cihan Dagli , Missouri University of Science and Technology

Dr. Cihan H Dagli is a Professor of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering, and Affiliated Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology.

He is the founder and Director of the Missouri S&T’s System Engineering graduate program. Dr. Dagli is the director of Smart Engineering Systems Laboratory and a Senior Investigator in DoD Systems Engineering Research Center-URAC. He is the Chair of INCOSE Fellows and IIE Fellow. He has been the PI, co-PI, or director of 56 research projects from federal, state, and industrial funding agencies



IEEE -CS (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers -Computer Society)

Andy Chen, IEEE-CS

John Keppler, IEEE-CS


The Governing Board would also like to acknowledge David Walden of Sysnovation and INCOSE,  Dave Olwell of the Naval Postgraduate School, and Ken Nidiffer of SEI, Carnegie Mellon University for the time and effort they put into the Governing Board, and John Keppler of the IEEE-CS, who has been instrumental in in helping the Governors work within the IEEE-CS structure.